Blue Mountains, Ontario – June 5, 2024 – The Ontario Association of Police Service Boards (OAPSB) is pleased to announce the successful conclusion of its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Spring Conference held at the scenic Blue Mountain Resort. This year’s event brought together police services board members, law enforcement professionals, government representatives, and community stakeholders from across Ontario for three days of engaging discussions, workshops, and networking opportunities.

The AGM provided a platform for participants to exchange ideas, share best practices, and explore innovative strategies for enhancing community safety and police governance. Key topics of discussion included key updated and interpretations of the new Community Safety and Policing Act (2019), an overview of the Inspectorate of Police (IoP), diversity and inclusion within police services and boards and the implementation of new technologies in policing.

The highlight of the AGM was the election of the new Board of Directors for the 2024-2025 term. The OAPSB is proud to introduce the newly elected board members who will lead the association in its mission to strengthen police governance and oversight in Ontario:

Patrick Weaver, Chatham-Kent PSB (Director Zone 6, elected Chair 2024-2025)
Bill Hagborg, North Bay PSB (Director Zone 1A, elected Vice Chair 2024-2025)
John McTaggart, Fort Frances PSB (Director Zone 1, elected 2nd Vice Chair & Secretary 2024-2025)
Karen Fisher, Durham Regional PSB (Director Big 12, elected Treasurer 2024-2025)
King Yee, Brockville PSB (elected Director Zone 2)
John Braybrook, Peterborough OPP Detachment (elected Director Zone 3)
Ken Whiteford, Woodstock PSB (elected Director Zone 4)
John Thomson, Owen Sound PSB (elected Director Zone 5)
Lisa Kostakis, Toronto PSB (elected Director – Toronto)
Al Boughton, Peel Regional PSB (elected Director Big 12)
Susan Stevenson, London PSB (elected Director Big 12)
Gerry Lougheed Jr., Greater Sudbury PSB (elected Director Big 12)
Rick Dumas, Marathon OPP Detachment (elected Director Section 10 North 1)
Marc Vaillancourt, North Bay OPP Detachment (elected Director Section 10 North 1A)
Jim Maudsley, Middlesex OPP Detachment (elected Director Section 10 South-West)
John Davison, Northumberland OPP Detachment (elected Director Section 10 South-East)

The newly elected board members bring a wealth of experience and diverse perspective to the OAPSB. Their leadership will be instrumental in guiding the association’s efforts to advocate for effective and accountable police services boards across the province.

“We are thrilled with the outcomes of this year’s AGM and the election of our new board members, allowing the strategic direction and the work we have begun over the last few years to continue,” said Pat Weaver, re-elected President of the OAPSB. “The discussions and insights shared during the conference have been incredibly valuable, and we are excited to continue working towards our vision of safer communities through strong police governance.”

The OAPSB extends its gratitude to all attendees, speakers, and sponsors who contributed to the success of the AGM. Their support and participation were crucial in making this event a remarkable experience for everyone involved.